Due to variances in browsers and operating systems, the selected map may not print on this page.
  1. Find It
    This map will help you understand the way North America looked in 1770. Find your state on the map. Which American Indian group lived in or near your state in 1770? Did a country claim land in your state at this time? Which country?
  2. Explore It
    Look at the colors on the map showing which countries claimed land in North America in 1770. What color shows Britain's land claims? How many different countries claimed land on the continent? Which countries were they? Click on the country names in the Key to help you answer these questions.
  3. Chart It
    Make a chart with four columns. Label each column with the following heads: British Land Claims, French Land Claims, Spanish Land Claims, and Disputed Land. Look closely at the map. Write each present-day state name in the correct column on your chart. If a state is claimed by more than one country, write the state name in each correct column.
Learn More About It

This map shows where major American Indian groups lived in North America at the time of European contact. It also shows how European countries divided up the continent in 1770. Europeans often argued about who owned land in North America. You can see on the map that France and Britain claimed some of the same land in the eastern part of the continent.
Check Your Answers
  1. Your answer should include at least one American Indian group and one country that claimed land, unless you live in Washington or Oregon.
  2. Britain's land claims are orange. Three countries claimed land in North America in 1770: Britain, France, and Spain.
  3. These states should be listed under British Land Claims: Maine, New Hampshire, Vermont, New York, Massachusetts, Rhode Island, Connecticut, Pennsylvania, New Jersey, Delaware, Maryland, West Virginia, Virginia, North Carolina, South Carolina, Georgia, North Dakota, South Dakota, Montana, and Minnesota.
    These states should be listed under French Land Claims: Montana, North Dakota, Minnesota, Wisconsin, Michigan, Maine, New York, Idaho, Wyoming, South Dakota, Iowa, Illinois, Indiana, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Colorado, Kansas, Missouri, New Mexico, Texas, Oklahoma, Arkansas, and Louisiana.
    These states should be listed under Spanish Land Claims: California, Nevada, Utah, Wyoming, Idaho, Colorado, Arizona, New Mexico, Texas, Louisiana, Florida, and Alabama.
    These states should be listed under Disputed Land: New York, Pennsylvania, Ohio, West Virginia, Virginia, Kentucky, Tennessee, North Carolina, Mississippi, Alabama, and Georgia.